Organizations often have different groups of users responsible for different parts of their service. When questions arise under that group's area of expertise, pinging each user individually or picking and choosing who might be the best option can be cumbersome. We've introduced user groups as a method to allow you to reach out to entire groups of users with a single name, rather than individually pinging them all. With careful usage and management of user groups, you can ensure all people who need to know about certain inquiries are informed of it, even as your organization grows and changes over time.
Manage user groups for the Team by visiting Groups under Settings. View a searchable list of all groups by clicking on view user groups at the top of the Users page.
Create and populate a new group
The Manage Groups page will look like the above, though it will initially be empty. To start creating a new group, click the "Add user group" button. You'll be prompted with providing a Name for the group, and an optional Description. The Description is only visible to Admins in the Manage Groups page and is meant for book-keeping, but the Name is what your whole Team will see and use, so make sure it's reflective of what collection of people it needs to represent.
Once you've created a User Group, you'll be informed that there are no new users, and provided a button to "Add users to this group". Click the button, and you'll be provided a search field to add users.
Once you've added at least one user to your User Group, you'll see them listed like the following image:
Modify a group
From the Manage Groups page, there's a few different management actions you can perform.
- To add or remove users from an existing group, click on the name of the group, or on the listed number of members for the group. This will take you to the page shown earlier above. New users can be added by clicking "Add users" in the top right. Users can be removed from the group by clicking "Remove" on the right of the user's entry on the table. Use these actions to ensure the membership of each group is kept up to date.
- To rename a group, or to change its description, click "Edit" on the right side of the table entry for the group. This will bring up a prompt with the group's current name and description that can be edited.
- To delete a group, click "Delete" on the far right. Deleting a group will not affect any of the users in the group, but it will make the group no longer usable in the Q&A and remove any existing notification mentions of the group used in questions or answers.
Notify an entire group
Once your User Groups are created as suits your needs, you can then use them in regular Q&A as a method to notify all the members of that group in one mention. When filling out a new question, the selection for "Ask team members" will now include any User Groups as an option, like shown in the image below:
User Groups can also be referred to in comments or posts using @ in the same way you would notify any individual member of your Team.