How can we help you today?

Modified on: Wed, 18 Mar, 2020 at 11:02 AM

Applies to: Basic Business Enterprise
Only Team Admins can utilize the features discussed in this solution.

Sometimes, you may need to remove a user's access to your Team. Perhaps you are part of a company where one of your coworkers transferred to a department where they no longer need access. Maybe you're part of a school system where you need to cycle in and out students each year as users graduate or gain admission. Whatever the case may be, we provide deactivation as a process to ensure you can cleanly remove a user's access to the Team when needed. 

To deactivate a user, an Admin of the Team can use the left hand navigation to head to 'Settings' -> 'Manage users'. While browsing the Active Tab of users, you can hover over their Role on the rightmost column to view the option to Deactivate User, as demonstrated below:

After confirming your decision to deactivate a user, the user will immediately be deactivated, removing their access to the Team instantly. A deactivated user is NOT a deleted user - they will suffer no changes to their non-Teams-related Stack Overflow account, and the Team itself will still track their existence. However, we keep track of deactivated users for a number of reasons:

  • It keeps track of the questions, answers, and comments posted by that user. Though they may not have access, their content will still be in the Team.
  • It prevents a new user with the same email as the deactivated account from rejoining the Team by any means.
  • It allows an Admin to reactivate the user at a later date, in the event that they need to regain access to the Team.

Deactivation is not a permanent action, and can be undone in the form of reactivation. This can be helpful if the deactivation was only a temporary need, or simply to undo a mistake was made in deactivation. When viewing the list of Deactivated users, you can hover over their deactivated status on the rightmost column to view the option to Reactivate User:

After confirming your decision to reactivate a user, the user will immediately return to being a normal member of the Team, and regain access. They will not have to re-register or receive a new invite, their access will be returned in the same fashion as when they last had access to the Team.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.